fascinating | 30 day writing challenge

Who fascinates me and why is today’s prompt for writing.

Honestly I can’t think of one single person who I can talk about. I’m fascinated with different people for many different reasons.

I’m fascinated with Cristiano Ronaldo because he’s become one of the best soccer players of this generation with sheer hard work and discipline. I’d want to sit down with him and ask him how he stayed motivation and how he always pushed himself to give it his all. If I had the kind of discipline he has, I’d have made pro status a long time ago.

My brother fascinates me because he has schizophrenia and autism. I often wonder how life plays out from his point of view. What it was like when he first started experiencing his hallucinations, if he ever thinks about his mental disabilities, or if he’s even capable of thinking about his mental disabilities.

I’m fascinated with my college bestie, who is a gym addict and Spartan Beast, and I’m fascinated with her for much the same reasons why I’m fascinated with Ronaldo. Fascinated with their incredible journey, fascinated by how they’ve come so far with the willpower to propel them to the very top of whatever the do. I need to get my drive to the level that theirs are at.

My relationship with my sister fascinates me because despite the 5-year age gap she and I present to so many people like twins. I wonder if our shared trauma is the sole reason behind our closeness. I wonder if we wouldn’t be as close if we hadn’t shared such an awful thing.

My dad fascinates me, though that’s because of the abuse. I wonder a lot why he did it. Was it really just for power? I wonder if he realizes how terrible his actions were. I wonder why he thinks we were all fighting with him over some weird familial power struggle. I wonder how he became the way he is. I wonder if he really does have antisocial personality disorder. Or if he’s an actual sociopath. I wonder if I’ll ever know those answers.

Lots of different things fascinate me. I literally Wikipedia surf for no reason.

Good lord this is a shitty ass post I’m so sorry. This literally reads like a third grade essay. I swear I’ll make it up to you guys tomorrow.